Pick Your Snowball Battles Carefully! by Gabby


Once again, I woke up looked out the bedroom window…Another dusting of snow. So very pretty, but no real accumulation to speak of. The window that I was looking out, I saw the neighborhood handful of kids waiting on the corner for the school bus. They really all pretty good kids and get along well. Imagine my surprise when I saw a couple of them tossing snow at each other. What pitiful little tiny snowballs they were, too…It did make me laugh but seemed they were having fun. It reminded me of snowfalls we would get back when Autumn and I were their age. Oh my goodness, we had some major snow…Often so much school was cancelled. The days we all dreamed of naturally!

So many times we had snowball battles, built snowmen and snowforts. My mind does work in a way all it’s own…What made me remember a snowball battle from us twinnies youth? Probably seeing the neighborhood kids, they were about the age we were back then, maybe 10 years old or so. Autumn and I had neighbor boys we were good buddies with, their names were Alex and Tim. Boys we grew up with, they were always fun and we all got along quite well.

This particular day, school was cancelled and we were all over the moon! Alex and Tim came over to play in the snow with us. We all had great fun building a little snow fort, a snowman to stand guard. I was pretending it was the prince and the twinnie talked Tim into building a snow unicorn. It honestly did resemble a unicorn, Alex and I were kind of surprised. We always had a thing about magical beings and all that, those poor boys! Anyway, all was fine until Tim and Autumn got a little rowdy with tossing snowballs…Wait just a minute who said we were having a snowball battle?! Pretty soon the snowballs were just flying like crazy…I wasn’t happy.

I should be embarassed to admit it, but I could be a bit snippy about getting too wet. The snow was in my hair, too and not making me at all happy. Plus my snowman prince was now missing part of it’s face. I wasn’t trying to ruin the twinnie’s unicorn, honest…But oops, there went the head flying off. Alex had come to my rescue…A snowball gone wild! By now Autumn was crying, I had joined in and those poor boys were just trying to get us to calm down. Tim and Alex comforted the twinnie with fixing up her unicorn, then mended my snowman prince. Wow, those boys sure worked fast…Anything to shut up the crying twinnies I fear.

Anyway, order was restored and we all decided to trail inside for hot cocoa and I simply had to fix and dry my wet hair, too! These are the wacky and weird things that just a small ground covering of snow made me take a stroll down memory lane.The good and fun old days, they make me smile, then laugh out loud. Then, just grab the phone to call the twinnie to ask her if she remembers…She did! 🙂 😉

24 thoughts on “Pick Your Snowball Battles Carefully! by Gabby

  1. Amazing story, I love to hear about ya’ll past. I actually been catching up on my homework every since I got home. So ready for a nap now to be honest. I wish I could experience a snowball fight.. I would so love it, for about hour and thats about it. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you liked this one PJ. That is so sweet how you love to hear about Autumn’s and my younger days. 🙂 Snowball battles were so much fun when we were kids, I haven’t had one for a good many years! I hope someday you can experience snow and maybe a short snowball battle. I am happy you are home, don’t wear yourself out with the homework and if you’re tired please rest PJ. Still keeping the prayers rolling for you to stay well! 🙂

      • Thank you for your kind words Gabby! Maybe one day I’ll experience it so I can write about it and share it! Moving slow today, so please do bare with me. And please continue to pray for me… God Bless:)

        • You are so welcome PJ, I will keep praying for you and your health and try not to worry so much. Moving slowly is expected Pj, you just got out of the hosptial. Just go at your own pace, everyone wil understand. I sure do hope you get to experience snow one day and can write all about it! 🙂 God Bless You, too! Hugs, Gabby

  2. beautiful trip down the memory lane Gabby…i wish I had snow to play with when I was growing up too…but then only north of India is blessed with all the snow and I grew up in central part…
    beautiful write up:)

    • Thanks Soma! I really do wander down memory lane quite often and happy you enjoyed it. That is sad in a way, you never got to play in the snow. You never know, maybe someday! 🙂

    • Thank you Nightshade, we are both surprised and honered! 🙂 It makes us happy you have liked our posts and think us deserving. We will be over to check it out a bit later, it’s been a busy, crazy day! God Bless You, too! Thanks again and hugs from The Twinnies, Gabby and Autumn

  3. What a sweet reminiscence! Brought a wee tear to my eye, it did. I hated playing in the snow because I was always the smallest and got clobbered every time. No fun there! I liked sledding though. That was fun. Whoosh!

    • I am glad you thought it was a sweet reminiscence Russell. Sorry it brought a tear to your eye, was it about being picked on when you were young? You hated playing in the snow and they clobbered you every time…Shame on all of them! I agree sledding is a lot of fun, too and I am glad you got to experience it. 🙂

    • I am so sorry Livvy, it does sound like you missed out. Please try and make up for it now. I am not sure if that’s the right thing to say, I just feel so bad about the childhood you described. Hugs, Gabby

  4. Wonderful memories and there’s nothing like a snowball fight. We’ve never lived in snow, but had a cabin in the mountains in my childhood. Many fun and great memories! Thanks, Gabby! 🙂

    • There really is nothing like the snow and a good snowball fight! Glad to hear you liked this post and I am happy you had the cabin in the mountains Lauren. You got to experience snow, which is nice for the good memories and all the fun. Right now, I am on snow overload and getting tired of shoveling. I said I was going to embrace the snow, too and it’s geting to be easier said than done it seems! 🙂

What do you think??

