He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not… by Gabby


I was looking at a magazine and noticed a picture of a bunch of daisies arranged nicely in a vase.That’s all it took and my mind was off to my oh so happy and younger days. It happens quite often to me, go figure! 🙂 As I’ve said on more than one occasion, my mind really can be a mystery on how it works and the way it works. I’ve decided not to tamper with a good thing! 😉 I think what I think, that’s the way it goes. Those thoughts that pop into my head are worth something, they need to be shared. My mind would be a terrible thing to waste! I think… therefore I am. Oops, I veered off subject  just a bit it seems.That happens kind of a lot, too…it’s a problem maybe, the digressing thing. 😉

I will get back on track, daisies and those younger days. Of course they would be Autumn’s younger days,too since we’re twins and all. There was a game we twinnies played plucking the petals off of a daisy. While you were happily plucking each petal you would say, “he loves me, he loves me not.” Naturally hoping all the while the last remaining petal would end up to be “he loves me”! If not, then you were sad a couple of minutes, then got over it. The worst part of course would happen if you were playing the daisy game with friends around. You just had to hope, wish and pray it didn’t end up with “he loves me not” in front of your friends! If it did, they would all tease you relentlessly about your misfortune.

All the wild daisies that were sacrificed over this now ridiculous seeming game! We had a huge field by our house and the daisies grew like wildfire, but they still shouldn’t have been ripped apart petal by petal. Oh well, the ways of the young. 🙂 The weirdest  thing that ever happened while playing the daisy plucking game.Well, that would be when was our friends and neighbor boys Tim and Alex wandered over to our yard and witnessed the daisy plucking game. Autumn had just finished her remaining petal, “he loves me” she shouted out, doing a little happy dance! I was holding my daisy, it too had one remaining petal… “he loves me!” Just in time, I saw those boys coming and  I wasn’t about to join the twinnie’s happy dance! Noticing the boys she just smiled and explained the game…Trust me they were not impressed! How embarrassing, Tim did tease the poor twinnie for a little while though. Autumn told him off of course and brought that to an abrupt stop to any further teasing. Oh, those younger days, they were fun and simple alright.

Do any of you kind girl readers remember playing this game and if so, want to share? Come on, sharing is fun girls! We twinnies as always would love to hear! 🙂 🙂

20 thoughts on “He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not… by Gabby

  1. I must agree, its a lovely memory to share with us. I have done it before, and Autumn said such fun times. Yes, it was! I forgot about it to the post. Thank you for sharing! God Bless 🙂

    • Thanks for liking this PJ and your kind words. I am happy you have played the daisy petal game, it was fun. 🙂 Glad I got you to remember by reading my post! 🙂 God Bless you, too and PJ how are you feeling?

      • Right now I’m feeling good. I havent got the transfusion yet. Its like the samething as if I was in the hospital waiting, they have to find my type,but its good to be home waiting instead or being in hospital. Sort of got inspired from this post to write a poem, still working process as of now. Thank you for asking how I’m doing.

        • I just returned from your blog PJ! I wrote such a long comment, happy reading but you asked! 😉 I am ever so happy to hear you are feeling good, it’s better to wait at home while waiting for your transfusion.Much better than the hospital. Yay, this post inspired you to write a poem! 🙂

  2. Oh the fun days…yes we played the game and just like you said whenever it was a ‘loves me not” we would take a philosophical route on how these things shouldnt be taken seriously and the moment we would get an yes we would all start believeing in them..
    I remember in the end we all became quite a cheat..we would count the petals and then start with the one which will end up in “loves me” 😆
    And hey we used to play ‘FLAMES” too..write your name and the one you like, count the alphabets and see which alphabet of flames one ends up..F-friends,L-love,A-adore,M-marriage,E-enemy …I dont remember what S was for…

    • You remember the daisy game Soma, Yay! I know, wasn’t it funny how we pretended not to care when we got “he loves me not”. Then we got a “he loves me” and we were believing like crazy! lol, The cheating with figuring out how you could end up on “he loves me”! Autumn caught on to it first I must tell and kindly shared with me. We never played “FLAMES”, now I feel deprieved!! I sounds like it was great fun, too…Wonder what the S stood for? Maybe Scorned! lol If you remember let us know! 😉 🙂

    • You sure are so right, younger days were so much easier! Thanks for giving us the S and what it stands for, never played the game FLAMES. It sure sounded like it was fun though! Also, thank you so much for reading this and stopping by! 🙂

  3. Hi I’m here from Soma’s blog…Glad I came…You have a lovely blog you two!
    This post is wonderful…Such a great memory…Thank you for sharing it!
    Hugs xx

    • Hi Deb and thank you for visiting via Soma’s blog, good to have you stop by! 🙂 Autumn and I appreciate your kind words about our blog, too. We sure try and make it fun, bring smiles and be a good time for all. This really is a great memory and so happy you enjoyed it and I do love sharing memories. 🙂 Autumn and I will have to get over to your blog soon, too. Hugs back to you Deb! 🙂

  4. It would always end with “he loves me” as I would count the stem as he loves me if it didn’t land on the petal. LOL (Guess I cheated.). Nice story. Take care. Sincerely, Connie Webb

    • Thanks Connie, I am glad you enjoyed thos post. Wonder if we all figured out how to cheat at the daisy game? We simply had to land on “he loves me”! Those petals being plucked were ever so important when we were young! 🙂 You take care, too Connie. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Questions « poeticjourney251

  6. This is such a wonderful memory, Gabby, and I remember that game…and I love daisies…as Meg Ryan says in “You’ve Got Mail” “They’re so friendly!” 🙂 And yay, for Autumn telling those boys off! Hugs to you both…I’m posing some older poems and still reading and will follow through with awards; so sorry for taking so long…xx

    • I love that line about daisies are so friendly, too and what a good movie! It is such a fun memory that daisy game, leave it to Autumn to tell the boys off, too! 🙂 Lauren, please don’t worry and get things done at your pace right now. We are thinking of you and keeping you in our prayers and lots of hugs back to you! 🙂

        • You are welcome Lauren! We think you are the best, too. We twinnies have to try and pray and not worry at all which seems impossible, the worrying I mean not the praying! I have the movie here, but haven’t watched it for awhile, maybe time to give another watch because I do love it! 🙂

  7. Pingback: She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not | My Journey in a Journal

What do you think??

