Smile…


It’s the song I am referring to, does everybody know the song I mean? “Smile“, yes it’s a beautiful song and it just pops into my head…Which is fine, but I  couldn’t shake it! Me, being the sort of person I am what do I do? I  played a much loved CD  to zap the song away. After the CD stopped the song “Smile” popped itself right back into my head, I kid you not! So, what to do…I simply can’t have this song stuck in my head. That’s when I decided, I will indeed write a post about it, why not? Surely that’s why the song popped itself into my head, right? 😉 Maybe, maybe not…It’s possible I was supposed to share this song “Smile” and my thoughts with you kind readers.

By the way, did you all know there really is a word for the stuck song syndrome? A hard to shake melody or a haunting melody… It’s called an Earworm. I know what you may be thinking, but it has nothing to do with worms trust me! It seems this happens to 98% of people, so I am in good company aren’t I? Sorry, I digressed just a tiny bit. Back to the song “Smile”…

The first person I recall singing it was my Dad. He sang a lot and often, Autumn’s and my Dad…He had a very beautiful voice. His philosophy always was it’s better to smile than cry, too so it’s no wonder Dad liked this song. I hadn’t been thinking of our Dad in particular when the song popped into my head. I was feeling just a bit sad, for a number of reasons… I don’t think I need to go into any of that for here and now. “Smile”,it really is a nice song with a nice message with it, too and I hadn’t thought of this song for quite some time.

There were many, many famous singers who sang this song…Nat King Cole, Tony Bennett, Judy Garland, more recent Josh Groban just to name a very few of them. It was said to be Michael Jackson’s favorite song, too.

This song and it’s lyrics…”Smile though your heart is aching/Smile even though your heart is breaking/While there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by/If you smile through your fear and sorrow, smile and maybe tomorrow/You’ll see the sun come shining through for you/Light up your face with gladness/Hide every trace of sadness/Although a tear may be ever so near/That’s the time you must keep on trying/Smile what’s the use of crying/You’ll find that life is worthwhile/ If you just smile.” They are lovely words, with such a wonderful train of thought to have rolling…I suppose I did need to have the song become stuck in my head.

The earworm thing had to happen… I am guessing to share this important thought today  with you kind readers. “Smile”, because tomorrow really will be a better day if you are or have been having some not so good days…It’s a good thought worth sharing, isn’t it? That’s all from me today, so hey everybody who needs to hear it…SMILE!! 🙂 🙂

29 thoughts on “Smile…

  1. It’s different, hope it’s interesting, too Twinnie! 🙂 The ear worm thing is a weird word for songs getting stuck in your head, isn’t it? It’s a lovely song, I remember Dad singing it so clearly and a wonderful memory for sure. 🙂 TF ❤

    • Thanks for sharing the link Judith! 🙂 It was very kind of you, I guess we Twinnies were negligent not including it… I suppose everybody does remember Nat King Cole was wonderful in singing this song. Autumn and I loved our Dad singing it though. He’s in Heaven so we haven’t heard him singing in for 8 years or so now. Thanks again and take care! 🙂

    • Thanks PJ, I am so happy you enjoyed this one. I kind of thought you may need to read this post. It’s hard to Smile sometimes when fighting an illness like yours. I’m sad you still aren’t feeling your best. 😦 Just rest and please do keep Autumn and me updated. We will keep praying sweetie, trying not to worry but it’s not working. We both have colds again, but we will be OK! 🙂 The weather has been so weird, so cold again but thankfully no snow. Sending Lots of Love and Hugs to you PJ and God Bless you, too! 🙂

      • Awww I hope you two start feeling better real soon. I really don’t want you two worrying, but I know you both care about me a lot. That means a lot to me. 🙂 Thank you for all the prayers, it truly means a lot to me, more then you’ll ever know! God Bless 🙂

        • We will be fine after our antibiotics kick in PJ, it’s still winter here. We both usually get sick with colds and all before the springtime comes rolling in. We will always worry about you sweetie, I could tell you differently but you would still know. You are the most special blessing to Autumn and I! 🙂 Those prayers will keep up PJ, they will never stop and we know the prayers mean so much to you. We need a cure for you, that’s all there is to it! More Love and Hugs are being sent your way!! 🙂 God Bless you, too!! 🙂

    • Thank you very much Dan, how kind and thoughtful of you. I am glad you have enjoyed our blog, we really do try to touch everybody who stops by. Autumn and I really do appreciate you thinking of us for this award, and we do thank you for saying we deserve it. Congratuations to you for winning this award Dan! 🙂 Take care and we will be over to your blog as soon as possible. 🙂 Gabby and Autumn

  2. A big beary hug for sharing this song Gabby…Love this song…
    your dad used to sing it..wow ..a life full of beautiful memories…
    the earworm absolutely sometimes i have these tunes cant shrug them off and whole day i would be hummning the same tune..
    but you posts never fail to make any of us smile..love you guys for being so warm and lovely
    hugs 🙂

    • A big beary hug right back to you Soma, I loved sharing the song. 🙂 I know it is a beautiful thing having memories of Dad singing this song, he had a lot of songs to cheer up all 6 sometimes whining daughters! The earworm thing is kind of so freaky isn’t it? It happens to you, too…Well, we are in the 98% it happens to Soma. I have to thank you so much for those kind words about me and the twinnie being warm and lovely. You are the same way Soma…Love and Hugs back to you! 🙂

    • I am happy you love the post, too Lauren…I know such wonderful memories of Dad singing this lovely song. 🙂 Your words as always are so beautiful and it makes me so happy you love the song, too. 🙂 Those two were the best and probably all time favorites for singing Smile. Sending hugs your way! 🙂

  3. Pingback: I got an Earworm | Autumn Sunshine

What do you think??

